Meyer Lemon Yogurt Cake With Lemon Glaze

20130227-131108.jpg

Until my baby Meyer lemon tree starts to pull its weight, I’ll be making do with the succulent, ripe fruit from my local market. I know, life is hard😉 Little did I know that re-purposing my citrus jewels would make it necessary to re-think portion control. You see, switching out half of the flour for cake flour makes this light, fluffy,eggy cake just disappear right into the hubby’s maw belly. The tangy zest and tartly sweet lemon glaze makes this moist, lemon-y cake just slide right off the plate and straight into your mouth. In fact, the hubby managed to devour 1/3 of it last night. I think I’ve created a scurvy-resistant monster. Oh, and in case you’re worried, the olive oil just gives it a tender crumb but no olive-y taste and while this cake is definitely sweet enough to be called a dessert, the acidic lemon keeps the glaze from being too sweet and the cake itself, despite the cup of sugar, isn’t overly sweet either. Actually, this is a fairly all-purpose citrus cake so if lemon isn’t your cup of tea, ruby grapefruit or blood orange or whatever citrus resides in your pantry would also shine here.

Don’t you mean extra virgin?
Actually, since you’re baking it and adding in a lot of other assertive flavors, using plain ol’ adulterated olive oil is fine. Those fruity notes in your extra virgin olive oil will simply be lost in the baking but if all you keep in the house is extra virgin, by all means use it🙂

20130227-131247.jpg

Lemon Glaze
1 c powdered sugar
1/4 c Meyer lemon juice (~1 lemon)
1 tsp Cointreau or limoncello

In a small bowl mix together ingredients till smooth and well combined. Set aside. (I like to do this while the cake is baking.)

Meyer Lemon Yogurt Cake
1 c all-purpose flour
1 1/4 c cake flour
2 tsp baking powder
1 1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp sea salt or 1/8 tsp table salt
1 tbsp lemon zest (~2 lemons)
1/2 c olive oil
1 c sugar
2 large eggs
2 tsp Cointreau or limoncello
1/4 c Meyer lemon juice (~1 lemon)
1 1/4 c Greek yogurt

Preheat oven to 350F. Grease and line a 9-inch springform pan with parchment paper if not using a silicone bundt pan or silicone springform pan.

In a large bowl whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and zest. Set aside. In another large bowl beat together sugar and olive oil till well combined.

20130227-131454.jpg

Beat in eggs, one at a time, till mixture is thick and pale yellow. Mix in Cointreau and juice. Stir in half of flour mixture till just combined (no white lumps or streaks visible). Mix in half of yogurt. Alternate with remaining flour mixture and yogurt mixing till just combined. Bake till golden and a cake tester or wooden toothpick comes out clean ~35-45 minutes. With a silicone bundt pan and convection it takes me 35 minutes. Let cool for ~10 minutes in pan before inverting then pour glaze over cake while it’s still hot. Makes 8-10 servings (or 3 if you live with a citrus pig).

About Cam

Enjoying the hippie life in Portlandia :)

9 comments

  1. This looks beyond delicious. I just drooled on my shirt. Thanks!

  2. This sounds like a very flavorful cake and I like that it calls for olive oil. Meyer lemons are gone from our markets now and, if people keep posting tasty recipes like this one, next year I’m going to end up buying the market’s entire supply. “Sorry everyone. No Christmas gifts this year but I’ve got several bushels of Meyer lemons in my basement.”

  3. YUM! I wonder if my limes would work?

  4. Elisabeth

    Thanks for the recipe. First time Meyer lemons arrived in Singapore so I had to go and grab some having heard so much about them. Coming home from the supermarket, I found that I lost my favourite lemon yoghurt recipe and found yours on the web instead.I like that you used olive oil and limoncello (I’m trying to use up my limoncello)
    I followed your recipe exactly and baked this in a well-greased silicone loaf pan and it was so soft and crumbly that it got stuck to the pan and came apart. It looks terrible but tastes delicious. Next time I am going to try a lined metal pan instead and cutting the drizzle recipe in half, there is too much of it.

    • Cam

      Oh no! So sad when that happens (I end up crying as I lick my fingers, lol ). I’ve found that when I use a loaf pan instead of a wider pan with more surface area for cakes or breads (like a bundt pan with the hole in the middle or cake pans) that it works better if I lower the temp to 325F and cook it longer (45-55 minutes) cuz the loaf pan is so dense that it takes longer to rise and cook. Glad that you liked the flavors though. The last of the Meyer lemons are sitting in a bowl on my counter waiting to be sacrificed to the Lemon Curd Deity😀

      Thanks for the feedback!

What's on your mind?

